Such sites include Smith's Tavern; Miller House (Washington's headquarters); Quaker Meeting House; East Middle Patent School; Brundage Blacksmith Shop; and The Widow Brush House.The afghan is available in attractive colonial blue and antique white, or an enticing cranberry red and antique white [the photo features the colonial blue and antique white].Due to its natural hills surrounding it, the Village of Kensico was an ideal location, but the town had to go; it was flooded to make way for the reservoir.The new dam’s construction began in 1913 and was built with materials transported over 17 miles of railroad track from quarries at nearby Cranberry Lake and Silver Lake.Before then, the NCHS recognized several dedicated members: North Castle Town Historian Doris Finch Watson, North Castle’s historic researcher Barbara Massi, the late North Castle Town Historian Richard Lander, and the late Town Councilwoman Rebecca Kittredge.
With over 100 pages of recipes and several vintage photographs from the North Castle’s times of the past, the collection is a unique item.
New York City first discovered the clear waters of North Castle as a water supply source in 1885.
The first dam was an earthen work one, but in 1905 the City determined it required more water.
This year's fund raising event on Monday September 12 will benefit the ancient buildings on the Historic Smith's Tavern educational complex at 440 Bedford Road in Armonk.
The buildings of the complex are the Historic Smith's Tavern, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, the 1798 Quaker Meeting House, One-Room East Middle Patent School, Brundage Blacksmith Shop, and Dr. Attend the event to enjoy a night our while doing something good for your community. until p.m., Amore will serve wine, beer, soft drinks, lots of food and desserts.